Starting in VC: 8 things I wish someone had told me

Let’s land you that dream VC role! 🪄

Hi! I’m glad you’re here. You’ve made it to issue #12 of VC Demystified🪄.

My name’s Nicole - I’m a Principal at an early stage venture fund, and I know firsthand that VC can often be a black box. Breaking into the industry may feel daunting and resources can seem scarce and inaccessible. I wanted to put together a newsletter to give others the playbook I wish I had when I first started.

Can you believe we’re halfway through summer?! Time is flying. This newsletter already marks 3 months of VC Demystified🪄. Thank you to those who have submitted feedback and topics for me to cover in future issues. I hope to continue providing VC insights to help you see under the hood of this opaque industry!

Today’s deep dive: Essential pieces of advice for new & aspiring VCs to hit the ground running on day 1

My personal mission is to open as many doors as possible for other people and this newsletter is just one avenue to do that. As always, I will continue to post VC insights daily across my socials for those of you who prefer those channels.

VC Job Openings Preview (3 of 12)🪄 

TrueBridge Capital is hiring an Investment Associate.
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
https://truebridgecapital.applytojob.com/apply/5mcd2l0Sbz/Investment-Associate-2024

Listen Ventures is hiring Investment Listeners (MBA students).
Location: Remote
https://airtable.com/appB8GwOHA3EeJPEu/shrteNtNFmbE7MK77

Geek Ventures is hiring an Investor.
Location: Remote
https://aplayersrecruiting1.recruitee.com/o/vc-investor-at-geek-ventures

Essential pieces of advice for new & aspiring VCs to hit the ground running on day 1

Starting in VC can feel like drinking from a fire hose. What makes VC an exciting career path is that there is no playbook that leads to a successful investor. Everyone has their own theses and approaches on how to win at this game.

Though that’s what makes it exciting, it can also make starting in the industry very challenging for new VCs.

Having been in the industry for 4+ years now, I’ve reflected on all the things I wish someone had told me on day 1 to make my life easier.

The kicker is that these things are so simple - I just didn’t have anyone to tell me.

So, I’m telling you!

I’ll answer the questions that swirl through your head repeatedly when you’re first trying to enter VC or when you’ve just broken in.

  • What should I focus on?

  • How do I meet other VCs and founders?

  • Who should I be talking to?

  • What rooms should I be in?

  • How should I manage my time?

  • What are some best working practices I should know?

Having these answers early will get you on the right track from the jump and will hopefully save you a lot of time and effort.

Let’s get into it!

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In