The FIRST 7 steps to take as an aspiring VC

Let’s land you that dream VC role! 🪄

Hi! I’m glad you’re here. You’ve made it to issue #19 of VC Demystified🪄.

My name’s Nicole - I’m a Principal at an early stage venture fund, and I know firsthand that VC can often be a black box. Breaking into the industry may feel daunting and resources can seem scarce and inaccessible. I wanted to put together a newsletter to give others the playbook I wish I had when I first started.

I hope everyone is taking advantage of the long weekend! Hopefully this doesn’t get lost in your inbox while you’re out enjoying one of the last weekends of summer.

Today’s deep dive: The first 7 steps to take as an aspiring VC who is new to the VC world

My personal mission is to open as many doors as possible for other people and this newsletter is just one avenue to do that. As always, I will continue to post VC insights daily across my socials for those of you who prefer those channels.

VC Job Openings Preview (3 of 10)🪄 

Offline Ventures is hiring an Investor.
Location: San Francisco
https://airtable.com/appVGvbNKxjrJmTIg/shrv7cJxLwQ1AxCTt

Impact Engine is hiring an Investment Analyst.
Location: Chicago
https://www.theimpactengine.com/jobs/investment-analyst

Contrary is hiring Venture Partners.
Location: Remote
https://www.contrary.com/blog/venture-partner-apps-2024

The first 7 steps to take as an aspiring VC who is new to the VC world

Venturing into the world of VC can be an exciting but overwhelming experience. With so many paths to explore and so much information to digest, where should you even begin?

Knowing where to start is the hardest part.

I remember when I first learned of VC, I didn’t know what I didn’t know and I certainly didn’t have a playbook for getting started.

I had so many questions whirling around in my head, some including:

  • What information should I be digesting?

  • Where is the best place to find that information?

  • Who should I be following or talking to?

I didn’t have any of those answers, but I flailed my way into it.

But you don’t have to!

I’m going to give a detailed 7-step beginner’s guide to jumpstart your VC journey today. Do all 7 of these and I guarantee you’ll have a better chance of landing your dream role faster!

I always say this: The path becomes clearer once you’re in it - you just have to find the start.

Let’s get into it!

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In