10 common VC interview questions all aspiring VCs should know

Let’s land you that dream VC role! 🪄

Hi! I’m glad you’re here. You’ve made it to issue #17 of VC Demystified🪄.

My name’s Nicole - I’m a Principal at an early stage venture fund, and I know firsthand that VC can often be a black box. Breaking into the industry may feel daunting and resources can seem scarce and inaccessible. I wanted to put together a newsletter to give others the playbook I wish I had when I first started.

There are SO many VC job openings in this newsletter issue! The last two weeks of August are typically the slowest in the VC ecosystem, but these funds must be hiring to gear up for the busy fall. Let’s land you one of these roles!

Today’s deep dive: 10 common VC interview questions all aspiring VCs should have answered before stepping into an interview

My personal mission is to open as many doors as possible for other people and this newsletter is just one avenue to do that. As always, I will continue to post VC insights daily across my socials for those of you who prefer those channels.

VC Job Openings Preview (3 of 15)🪄 

Offline Ventures is hiring an investor.
Location: San Francisco
https://airtable.com/appVGvbNKxjrJmTIg/shrv7cJxLwQ1AxCTt

Accion is hiring an Associate, Portfolio and Investments.
Location: Washington D.C.
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/3996488627

Interplay is hiring an Investment Analyst.
Location: Remote
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/3999974166/0

10 common VC interview questions all aspiring VCs should have answered before stepping into an interview

I decided to keep this newsletter issue short and sweet to give you a list of 10 common questions you will more than likely be asked in any VC interview. If you are preparing quickly (hopefully not!), I’d recommend starting with these.

VC interviews usually have 5 question categories:

  1. Background & experience

  2. Market & investment trends

  3. Firm & role specific

  4. Technical & modeling

  5. VC case study

These 10 questions range from easy to more challenging and can show up at any stage of your interview.

The good thing about the 10 questions I will share with you is that most of the answers can be used from interview to interview across different VC firm processes. Of course, it’s always good to tailor for each as needed, but for the most part, once you have these answered for yourself, you should be decently prepared for any VC interview.

Let’s get into it!

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In